A Cultured Life…

…stumbling through life with two beautiful daughters – often tripping, sometimes running!!

The Boston Marathon and my child

on April 17, 2013

I have this huge stone in the pit of my stomach right now. All day I have been alternating between a hole in my stomach and a stone to fill it.
A moment of great joy, immense pride is now forever wrapped up in fear and grief and misgiving.
Aditi would have never been at the Boston Marathon 2013 medical tent if it was not for me.
I am the one who took to running first, in a family of avid sports watchers.
I have forever painted srinivas and Aditi and swati with the running infectiousness that only an insanely happy runner can.
I have tried to protect her from the real and imagined bad thoughts.
I have tried to protect her from now and future mistakes
How do I protect her from wanting to do something because it would make her mom happy?

This the reason she was at that medical tent- because it was her second time volunteering, because mom would be so proud once again, because for now this would be closest mom would get to the Marathon course.

How do I protect her??

Leave a Reply

