A Cultured Life…

…stumbling through life with two beautiful daughters – often tripping, sometimes running!!

Introduction

on February 14, 2012

Culture as defined by Merriam Webster is “the customary beliefs, social forms, and material traits of a racial, religious, or social group.” Culture to me is also the Tsp. of yoghurt that is added to warm milk to get the next batch of yoghurt. All my life, I have known my mom to make yoghurt at home and I remember running into the kitchen as soon as I wake up to see if, overnight,  the container of milk has transformed itself to yoghurt. It was nothing short of a miracle and that sense of wonder over this transformation has stayed with me over the years.

Let me explain the painstaking process mixed with a significant dollop of the ‘other’ that precedes the journey of milk to yoghurt. You start with a container/pot/vessel of milk and it is boiled until bubbles over. Then you wait for the temperature to have receded from its earlier boiling point. The culture, a tsp. of yoghurt from a previous batch, is added at the precise time and the vessel is then kept in a warm spot. What makes this a ‘new’, ‘new’ thing every day is attaining the temperature that is precisely perfect for the addition of the culture.  Definitely not warm or and not a shade below boiling. When you dip your finger in, it should be hot to touch (like a hot coffee) but not too hot to burn.

At my home, I am your everyday yoghurt making fanatic. I have this compulsive need to make yoghurt every night. I have my excuses down pat: – the store bought ones are not healthy, have too much starch in them and tastes like paper. In the deep recesses of my mind, having a container of freshly set yoghurt every night at a dinner table is closely bound to my concept of a ‘good mom’. Where and how this connection was made, I do not know.

When I was thinking of my reason for a blog, the first thing that came to my mind was that I am a dramatically different person from who I was 20 years ago. I feel like this pot of milk that transforms every day with the addition of the culture, albeit a transformation over many days and nights. Today I am the culmination of many ‘cultures’. I hope to chronicle many such moments – as a wife, a mother, a working girl, a friend, a runner – and maybe understand the trajectory of the path I choose.

Running is my newly found passion. With many training programs, three injuries, one Marathon and one half marathon, there is much to discover. I have also discovered a love for teaching and wish to marvel at the transforming ability of a teacher.

Conscious living and conscious writing – will hopefully result in ‘cultured’ writing.

~anuradha

One response to “Introduction

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

